cxtracker, daemonlogger, forensics, fpcgui, Information, OpenSourceSoftware, Security, Sguil, Snort, Suricata

Full Packet Capture GUI (FPCGUI)

I started a little project of mine that I have been thinking about since the summer of 2008 (Also see this post). I saw that it was a problem finding vendors selling a cheap setup for a full packet capture solution. The recommendation was to set up a Linux server on your own, run tcpdump and spool pcaps to disk. Well, once you have all that data, you need some way to manage it. I thought about using sancp to index the connections, and tools like tcpxtract, foremost, dsniff, chaosreader, tcptrace and combine features from xplico to add some extra value and possibilities on top.

So I started my project back in september 09, calling it FPCGUI (Full Packet Capture Graphical User Interface). It is currently supporting daemonlogger/tcpdump/sancp for spooling pcaps with a wrapper script that puts pcaps in directories based on “year-month-date”. cxtracker/sancp can be used for connection profiling/tracking, writing session data to disk, where I have written fpc-session-loader.pl which picks up the session data files and inserts them to a mysql database. If I now have an interest in seeing all the traffic from one host, I can do a search in my webgui and get the data. I can do rather interesting queries on all the data from cxtracker/sancp, and get interesting results.

freebsd search

I use cxtracker in my setup, as it collects meta data on both IPv4 and IPv6 connections. I have also managed to store IPv4 and IPv6 addresses in the mysql database in a reasonable and usable way.

IPv6 search

I have just finished writing a PHP webgui, where I can enter a search term, and get a list (or just a single session if I’m specific enough), click on the session of choice, and up pops a download dialog, where I can choose to open the pcap straight away in wireshark! The pcap of the specific session is carved out from the pcaps for the relevant period (days) when the session took place. More or less the same functionality you find in a Sguil stack setup. I wrote the php-gui in such a way, that it can take search terms via an URL, like “?srcip=10.10.10.10&srcport=80” and so on, making it easier to integrate with other applications.

search1

Example screenshot of what happens when you click on an event:
search1
I have associated the pcap files with: ‘Content-Type: application/pcap-capture’ and set firefox to spawn wireshark for those files automatic 🙂

So now I’m one step closer to having Full Packet Capture with my Sourcefire 3D system! Just need to find out what part of the 3D webgui code to hack, to add my custom <click here to get the pcap of the session that triggered the event> 🙂 Of course I can enter the data manually, but I’m lazy, and I like to hack stuff 🙂

The project i hosted here. Any thoughts are more than welcome.

Standard

One thought on “Full Packet Capture GUI (FPCGUI)

Leave a Reply

